Immigration Policy from a Georgist Perspective

Immigration Policy from a Georgist Perspective:
Restrictionism vs. Open Door
or
Welcoming The Stranger — Sort Of: Our
Ambivalent Immigration System

Steve Sklar’s contributions to this talk are likely to be threefold:
First, a (brief) summary of the history of U.S. immigration policy,
wherein it will be revealed that our national ambivalence to welcoming
the stranger goes way back.  Second, his reflections on the economic
roots of xenophobia; these reflections are very much inspired by
George’s thinking on the nature of wealth production, the economic
effects of population, and the Wages Fund Theory.  And third, some
anecdotes from his 25 years of immigration law practice that illustrate
how our immigration system both does and does not welcome the stranger
to our shores.  Somewhere in the talk he will consider the elements of
xenophobia that remain even in articles George himself published late in
his life, and his (Steve’s) attempts to grapple with those.

Bio:

Steve Sklar has given talks on Henry George’s insights at the Ethical
Culture Society of Essex County, New Jersey, and Arden, Delaware.  For
three years recently he taught courses on George’s writings at the Henry
George School of Social Science in Manhattan. His parents introduced him
to those writings when Steve was a teenager.  His father, the late Dave
Sklar, taught the P&P course at the George School in New York for 17 years.

By day, Steve practices immigration law.  Before becoming a lawyer, he
worked in film and video production.  His hobbies include storytelling
and group improv.

Respondent: Dan Sullivan, CGO President

You are invited to a Zoom webinar.
When: July 12, 2020 02:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada); 1 pm Central, 12 noon Mountain; 11 am Pacific time
Every week on Sun, until Jul 26, 2020,

Please download and import the following iCalendar (.ics) files to your calendar system.
Weekly: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/tZIlfuyhpjIrHdyEdBAfd0zYOzme95Z3Lfsw/ics?icsToken=98tyKuGupjIvE9ycsR6PRpwAGor4Z_PxiFhcgqdEuRvHIiZXMhnPGfhPN-sqKov8
Topic: CGO 2020 Conference Sunday Session

Please click the link below to join the webinar:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86895989178?pwd=WVVqVTRTZ3BmODY4Y3BnRXE3L0Qxdz09
Password: 352358

Or iPhone one-tap :
US: +13017158592,,86895989178# or +13126266799,,86895989178#
Or Telephone:
Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):
US: +1 301 715 8592 or +1 312 626 6799 or +1 646 876 9923 or +1 408 638 0968 or +1 669 900 6833 or +1 253 215 8782 or +1 346 248 7799
Webinar ID: 868 9598 9178
International numbers available: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kdyuFCkCgZ

 

The event is finished.